Why Today?

My drive home earlier this afternoon ushered in, without any known stimulus, thoughts of my dad. It is now some six hours and still I’m reflecting on him. He has been deceased since 1991.

I do miss my dad. I often wonder what he would think of my new bride. I think he would like her. His interest in judicial matters would keep him interested in my job.

I still wonder what his thoughts would be on family matters, the end result of raising my daughter. Dad was a proud man yet humble. The welfare system he avoided while at the same time willing to seek public help. His position was no to government but yes to charitable people.

He was a beggar who asked for help because society at that time would not employ a blind man. Dad would rather play his guitar for folks and accept their generosity than to do nothing and expect the taxpayer to support him and his family.

There is more to him and his legacy. I’ll save it for another time. However, I will call your attention to one point you may have discerned from reading this. I referred to him as “dad.” It is partly because of the following verse. I place it here for your consideration. What do you think it means?

Do not call anyone on earth your father; for One is your Father, He who is in heaven. (Matthew 23:9 NASB)

20120809-213757.jpg
Dad and Jennifer

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

