Is it Automatic?

A Facebook friend accurately reminded me in a post that God forgives. No doubt about it. He does. And praise God He does.

I’m also reminded of people jokingly saying, “It’s easier to get forgiveness than permission so I’ll carry out whatever howbeit wrong it may be and then get forgiveness.” Course it is my opinion this is said more often in jest than in sincerity.

However, there is, in my opinion, a prevailing thinking that God forgives any and all sin in such a way as to think it is “automatic.” That thinking is NOT biblical. The verse most often quoted is:

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. (1 John 1:9 NASB)

Here’s the reason why we should not consider God’s forgiveness as automatic. To “confess” our sin is to agree with God the act requiring forgiveness is indeed a sin. In most cases you knew beforehand it was a sin yet you did it anyway.

Is it righteous to expect God’s forgiveness to be granted merely for the asking? Not only is it forgiveness that is granted but also cleansing. Sad people want to “play” on God’s love and essentially live in unrighteousness rather than seeking to live holy.

This edition to my blog is not in retaliation to my Facebook friend or anyone else. it is my thoughts prompted by an accurate biblical truth I was reminded of.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Church, God's Favor, love, Religious and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it Automatic?

  1. Rae says:

    Maybe your friend meant that they were just grateful for a God that does forgive all sins. Even those that you had talked about in your posts.

    • Hoss says:

      I am certain my friend meant it in the most positive way. My concern is that my friend doesn’t misunderstand me. She be a good friend.

Leave a Reply

