Taken for Granted

My work ethic is to perform my duties so I can be an asset to my employer. My conviction is to do this for God’s glory. “Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. (1 Corinthians 10:31 NASB)”

In order to be an asset I try to learn to do My job well and learn how to do other jobs. That way I can be of more use (value) to my boss. However, there is a flip side to this philosophy.

Knowing how to do multiple jobs will get you pulled from your job. You do someone else’s job while yours gets behind. You get taken for granted and expected to do other work without any expressions of gratitude.

In the old textile mills they had a person who was responsible for doing the job of another employee if they were out sick or just laid out of work. They were called “spare hands.”

The spiritual arena suffers from the same type of attitude. What is it in the spiritual lives that are taken for granted?

I. Church

1. people are taken for granted.
If we cared more about people it would be reflected in our benevolent fund.

2. positions are taken for granted

3. pastors are taken for granted

4. pulpits are taken for granted

II. Marriage

1. Courtships are taken for granted

2. Children are taken for granted

3. Counseling is taken for granted

III. God

1. Blessing are taken for granted

2. Grace is taken for granted

3. Son is taken for granted

4. Holy Spirit is taken for granted

5. Holy Bible is taken for granted

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Church, Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taken for Granted

  1. kandy says:

    So so true!!

Leave a Reply

