If it walks like a duck…

Why in the world do we make things more complicated than they really are? What am I talking about now?

If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck, swims like a duck, and looks like a duck then in all probability…It is a duck! Am I being mean if I say to the duck, “You are a duck?” What if I tell the duck it’s a duck when the duck saids it is not a duck but a geese! Do I have the right to tell the duck the truth and say, you are a duck even though the duck who thinks it’s a geese doesn’t like it?

Here’s the deal. It is not passing judgment on a person to tell them truth. What is truth? Answer…
Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth. (John 17:17 NIV)

So to be truthful, loving and supportive; an adulterer, fornicator, homosexual, wife and child abuser, and on and on we can go, should be told so because the inspection of their fruit (lives) indicate these truths and there is going to be a day of accountability.

Now these folks are not accountable to me but are accountable just the same. In addition to this truth is the truth that I am accountable also to tell God’s truth. This is not judging. It is inspecting lives through the Standard and speaking truth. I’m not to be jury, judge, and executioner. I am to be the voice of one crying in the wilderness.

He said, “I am A VOICE OF ONE CRYING IN THE WILDERNESS, ‘MAKE STRAIGHT THE WAY OF THE LORD,’ as Isaiah the prophet said.” (John 1:23 NASB)

If I care about you and I mean really care, I owe it to you to tell you the truth in a loving Christian way, considering myself, and without prejudice.

But if the watchman sees the sword coming and does not blow the trumpet and the people are not warned, and a sword comes and takes a person from them, he is taken away in his iniquity; but his blood I will require from the watchman’s hand.’ “Now as for you, son of man, I have appointed you a watchman for the house of Israel; so you will hear a message from My mouth and give them warning from Me. When I say to the wicked, ‘O wicked man, you will surely die,’ and you do not speak to warn the wicked from his way, that wicked man shall die in his iniquity, but his blood I will require from your hand. But if you on your part warn a wicked man to turn from his way and he does not turn from his way, he will die in his iniquity, but you have delivered your life. (Ezekiel 33:6-9 NASB)

I guess I’m just tired of people telling me to stop judging them when I’m really trying to show love and concern. It is not my place to judge but it is my place to warn. I’ll have to answer to God and I love you.

And inasmuch as it is appointed for men to die once and after this comes judgment, (Hebrews 9:27 NASB)

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Life's Lessons, Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

