The mystery of the bed chain

One of the fondest memories I have of my grandma is the mystery of the bed chain. As a child it was a mystery, but as I grew up it was revealed to me what was really taking place.

Grandma had an old metal bed. The headboard was big yet more thin than thick. The footbed was shorter. I can remember the open box-springs. This is before the days of covering box springs.

At the top/middle of her bed was a light with a small metal pull-chain. Every night she would lay in bed to read. So far no mystery revealed. Stay with me, it’s coming.

These memories are over 40 years old. So I’m going way back to share a truth.

As I grew older, grandma became afflicted with dementia. She was in an adult assisted living facility. One Christmas shortly before her death we brought her to her son’s house with the family. We had just exchange gifts. The Christmas tree was glowing with its lights. I asked grandma what day it was. She did not know. Her 65+ year old son was sitting by the tree. Again she did not know who he was.

I was home from bible college for the holidays. I reached into my back pocket and pulled out my green little New Testament given out by Gideon international. The outer wording was all gone. The book had lost its shape.

When I pulled it from my pocket and asked my grandma what it was, immediately she said it was the bible, God’s Word. There’s the mystery of the bed chain for it was the Holy Bible she was reading each night. I used to mock her when she spoke of reading the bible through for so many times. I stand corrected, embarrassed and educated.

It was the inspiration of the Bible she remembered. Christmas Day is not inspired of God, it is invented by man. It was not her own son she remembered but the Son of God.

Shortly after this day, grandma died. I placed my little pocket New Testament with her.

Your word I have treasured in my heart,
That I may not sin against You. (Psalm 119:11 NASB)

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Family, God's Favor, Life's Lessons, Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The mystery of the bed chain

  1. Marguerette Lowery says:

    So so sweet, this made me cry, thinking of granny and how she would tell us all about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

