The Preacher who really knew his bible

This is a humorous story passed along to me some years ago.

I heard about a preacher one time who was being interviewed for his first church. This pulpit committee had him in a room examining him and the Chairman said, “Son, you know much about the Bible?” He said, “Yes sir, I really know the Bible.” The Chairman said, “is that right? What part of the Bible you know best?” He said, “I know it all. I know the Old Testament. I know the New Testament.” he said,

“Well, if you know so much about the Bible, why don’t you tell us one of the stories you know? For instance, the Good Samaritan. You know the story?” He said, “yes sir.” “Well tell us the story of the Good Samaritan.”

The preacher began and said, “Well there was a man of the Pharisees, named Nicodemus. He went down to Jericho by night and he fell upon stoney ground and the thrones choked him half to death and he said what shall I do? He said, I will arise and go to my Father’s house, and he arose and climbed up in a sycamore tree.”

“The next day, Solomon and his wife Gomorrah, came by and they carried him down to the Ark for Moses to take care of him, but as he was going through the Eastern Gate into the Ark, he caught his hair on a limb and he hung there for 40 days and 40 nights and he was afterward hungered and the ravens came and fed him.”

“The next day the Three Wise Men came and carried him down to Nineveh and when he got down there he found Delilah sitting on a wall and he said, chunk her down boys, and they said, Well, how many times shall we chunk her down, till 7 times, and he said Nay, until 70 times that and they chunked her down 490 times and she burst asunder in their midst and they picked up 12 baskets of the fragments and in the Resurrection whose wife will she be,”

The Chairman of the Committee said, “Fellows, I think we ought to call him. I know he is young, but he really knows his Bible.”

Until next time, :-}

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

