Tasting Rain & Smelling Grandma’s Yard

I got home from work this afternoon and noticed how badly I needed to cut the yard. So I got out the weed eater and did the trimming so I can zip along on the riding mower.

While weed eating, I stuck my head through a bush to trim around the trunk. When I did I smelt the aroma coming from the blossoms. The smell immediately triggered my thoughts of grandma and her yard. The memory goes all the way back to my childhood when my sister, brother, and other kids would play in the front yard at Grandma’s. The good ole days.

Though she has been dead for approximately 30 years, it is nice to recall those memories. That memory is a nice one. Another memory made me mad when it happened but oddly enough is a pleasant memory today.

Grandma liked to fish and took us kids one day. I just wasn’t interested in fishing on that day but we were “made” to go. I do not recall catching any fish. Grandma may have.

What I do remember is the torrential downpour that fell on us. It rained so hard it hurt. Those drops would beat your body to a pulp. Had I been a car I’d had dings all over me.

If that wasn’t bad enough, we had no where to hide. No shelter. Our clothes soaked and it was raining so hard that it was actually going in my mouth. Have you ever tasted rain? I did that day.

There we were, slopping wet, beat up, and no way to travel. Our ride had not come for us yet. Then, of all things to happen the obvious did. The sun came out! Our wet clothes from top to bottom were so wet they were sticking to us. When the sun hit us it was like a sauna. in a word, Miserable!

I got mad. No fish. No shelter. No desire to be there. No Fun! Hated it then. But Wow, what a pleasant memory now. I miss grandma.

Love ya Grandma. See ya in Heaven.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Life's Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

