Riddle

Can you guess this riddle?

Many years ago a prominent merchant promised an eccentric old woman named Lucy King, living in a neighboring town, a prize, if, taking her subject from the Bible, she would compose a riddle which he could not guess.
She won the prize with the following:

Adam, God made of dust,
But thought it best to make me first;
So I was made before man,
To answer God’s most holy plan.

My body God did make complete,
But without arms, or legs, or feet;
My ways and acts He did control,
But to my body gave no soul.

A living being I became,
And Adam gave to me my name;
I from his presence then withdrew,
And more of Adam never knew.

I did my maker’s law obey,
Nor from it ever went astray;
Thousands of miles I go in fear,
But seldom on earth ever appear.

For purpose wise, which God did see,
He put a living soul in me,
A soul from me my God did claim,
And took from me that soul again.

For when from me the soul had fled,
I was the same as when first made;
And without hands, or feet, or soul,
I travel from pole to pole.

I labor hard by day and night
To fallen man I give great light;
Thousand of people, young and old,
Will by my death, great light behold.

No right nor wrong can I conceive,
The scriptures I cannot believe;
Although my name, therein is found,
THey are to me an empty sound.

No fear of death doth trouble me,
Real happiness I shall never see;
To heaven I shall never go,
Or to the grave, or hell below.

Now when these lines you slowly read,
Go search your Bible with all speed;
For that my name’s recorded there,
I honestly to you declare.

Your answer?

____________________________

this riddle did not originate with me. It is not to my knowledge copywrited.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

