Slapping God’s Holy Face

It ticks me off! Thank our Holy Merciful God for His Unconditional Love cause if it were me I’d tell some folks where they can take their prayers and blank, empty, vain devotions.

I mean seriously, it chaps my hide to hear people rushing to God over and over again whenever a tragedy hits in their family or family of friends in one breathe while in the other cussing and raising hell about stuff.

People post their trash on Facebook, use their vulgar language and totally inappropriate pictures etc… to have “fun” and then get a holier than thou whenever they want God to do something for them. Why don’t you do something for Him?

Now I’m no saint by a long shot, but I think I have the decency to know who I am and who God is! I’m told I should keep my mouth shut because I’m judging folks. An accusation I vehemently deny. I have not said anyone was going to hell. I have stated God’s Word. Still I get the venom of others slammed on me. Course they are not judging!

It is a slap in the holy face of God to come to Him like a person goes to a doctor to fix some illness and then forget all about God once He’s cared for your tragic need. God is not there for us but we are here for Him.

Why should He answer your prayers when you cant give Him a few minutes in worship each Sunday. Demanding Deity isn’t He?

Sure we all fall short but that is no excuse for how we treat God. Praise His name I don’t get what I deserve. Make up your mind. What kind of relationship do you want with God?

One day on Facebook you post your trash and on the next some religious ditty. Why? Is that supposed to make you feel better. Maybe fool God and friends. Not hardly.

And while I’m at it. I don’t need to re-post some religious status to prove my love for God or hatred for the devil or to have good fortune or even blessings from God. Guilt trips about deleting whatever with the threat of bad luck doesn’t work either. Truth is there is no such thing as luck. Try Proverbs 3:5-6 instead of luck.

Surely you think this posting is bitter. I suppose you are right. However I am right too. Make up your mind. Christian or no, living for God or not. Hypocrites are not only found in the church. You find them everywhere. It’s like the person who died and didn’t go to church being listed as Baptist in his obituary. Just something to put hoping to do what? Earn brownie points with God. Quit playing games. Get real.

Until another time,

Hoss.

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slapping God’s Holy Face

  1. kandy says:

    Gee Whiz Hoss! On your high horse. But, seriously, I understand what you are saying. It does frustrate me when people only want God in their lives when they need something or need Him to help them through a tough situation. I see it all the time. You’ll see someone come to church for several Sundays or more. You have heard that they are facing a crisis. Then, when that crisis passes you don’t see them again until the next crisis. It may be a year or several years. I’ve seen people have a child that is in a terrible car accident. The doctors say they may not pull through. They call the preacher, their best church friends, etc. and of course, we reach out to them. We pray for them, sit with them at the hospital, take food, give money. Then, when the child “miraculously” recoverers it is goodbye church until I need you again. I know I should not be judgemental, but it really bothers me sometimes. I’ve been convicted as I write this. I should do what I can do for them and leave the rest up to God. Just disregard this whole reply. This is really a negative perspective and I need to just do what I feel God wants me to do and leave the rest to Him. Thanks, Hoss, for letting me vent.

  2. Warren says:

    Ever heard of righteous indignation?

  3. Michael Jones says:

    I like it when U speak The Truth, The Gospel and Step On Toes.

Leave a Reply

