Hardly know where to start

It is true. I hardly know where to start. Troublesome soul. I should be but then again not. For the life of me I care what others feel. Often there is nothing I can do about the feelings of others and to some it is a character flaw to care.

I’m not ashamed of my convictions. I am disturbed that because of my alliance with God that any position I take is viewed as being judgmental. Even if I only give God’s Word without commentary, it is still viewed as a brow beating, unloving, attack.

People of other opinions can share their views but a person sharing the views of God is immediately berated. Granted there are many people who are abusive in their attempt to speak for God but not all. The motive is always in question.

Here is a hypothetical illustration. Let’s say I go on a journey. Instead of using the roads to travel by I decide to walk the tracks of a railroad. As I go along my way people keep telling me I better get off the train tracks. It’s against the law and worse yet I could get killed. I tell them to mind their own business. I’m not hurting anyone. I don’t believe the law. I’ve tried the road but just can’t do it. Still people keep telling me I’m in danger. I get sick and tired of people telling me what they think. So I tell them what I think about their law, their thoughts and tell them to leave me alone! Thing is I have a right to do what I please! Who are you to tell me. Why are you telling me?

As I take my journey along the train tracks and people tell me their wishes for me, I think… If they LOVE me they will accept me for who I am and stay out of my life. If they love me they would support me. If they support me then let me walk. Who gives a care about a train?

Now ask yourself what kind of love is it for people to leave me alone on the train tracks knowing the impending danger that is approaching. How can you care about any person who is harming themselves and placing themselves in impending danger by keeping your mouth shut? Here it is. Not everyone but many people tell others the truth because they DO care. SOMEBODY SAY SOMETHING!

Here is the truth. If you really, as a witness to God, love someone, you will tell them the truth. You will share God’s truth. You don’t have to call names but you better speak up.

Consider:
“Son of man, I have appointed you a watchman to the house of Israel; whenever you hear a word from My mouth, warn them from Me. When I say to the wicked, ‘You will surely die,’ and you do not warn him or speak out to warn the wicked from his wicked way that he may live, that wicked man shall die in his iniquity, but his blood I will require at your hand. Yet if you have warned the wicked and he does not turn from his wickedness or from his wicked way, he shall die in his iniquity; but you have delivered yourself. Again, when a righteous man turns away from his righteousness and commits iniquity, and I place an obstacle before him, he will die; since you have not warned him, he shall die in his sin, and his righteous deeds which he has done shall not be remembered; but his blood I will require at your hand. However, if you have warned the righteous man that the righteous should not sin and he does not sin, he shall surely live because he took warning; and you have delivered yourself.” (Ezekiel 3:17-21 NASB)

My soul is still troubled. People think their love and support is contingent on acceptance of improper behavior. It is not! Love and support is dependent on God’s Honest Truth.

These thoughts are applicable to many situations. Adultery, abortion, lifestyle choices, and stealing, and on and on we can go.

Love one another enough to be truthful.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Family, God's Favor, Happiness, Life's Lessons, Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

