A Plan of Attitude

I have an ulterior motive for this edition revealed at the end but I’ll begin with my employment.

I work in a very negative environment. It is so negative that it affects the recidivism rate. People just can’t adjust to the bombardment of negative events and incidents. I totally understand. It is not easy.

If you are going to make it where I work, it is imperative to have a plan of action. Rather, a plan of attitude. Let me explain. At my workplace, you have hundreds of people carrying out criminal behavior. You have people who are against you, without just cause, only due to the fact you’re an employee!

Unhealthy people are all around you. Medicine is dispensed on a daily basis. Unsanitary conditions are a constant issue. So much so there are people whose responsibilities are to prevent and solve the issues.

The employees are monitored and some would say they are micro-managed. Every act done that is inconsistent with policy and procedure is addressed. Daily. Where I work, someone is always watching you.

How do you survive? How do you work in an environment where you feel no one really gives a care about you, unless of course, you are part of the cliques?

The first thing I do is remember who I work for. My boss is God. He provided the job. I owe it to Him to perform in such a manner that pleases Him. After God comes my wife and family. Only after them do I consider working for a company/organization. Fact is, if I get things right with my Boss ( God ) then the other areas are most likely to come together correctly. At least I have done my part.

This attitude helps me deal with the actions of others. Their lack of professionalism, work ethic, and treatment of others. When I get angry, when I get offended, when I get ridiculed, I just remind myself I do what I do for God. I promise you if you will work for Him and let Him handle the problems in your life you will see His favor.

The second thing I do is be gut honest with myself. Truth is I can be a negative person at times. I can treat people in a way that does not make my Boss pleased. So, I have to be willing to be corrected and make adjustments in my life to help make my employment a better experience.

A third behavior I try to maintain without being holier than thou is to be open about my relationship with God. I am a Christian. I try to live according to God’s holy Word. I do not always succeed but I try. Believe me it takes a lot of discipline where I work. If a woman where I work can openly refer to her female partner as her husband without reservation then certainly I can refer to my Lord as my Savior without reservation. The trick is not to come across as trying to impose my standard on someone else. If asks then that is different but to constantly preach to them is usually more harm than good. At least in my experience.

One more thing. Everybody answers to somebody. I am convinced we will all give answer to
God. Some at the Bema Judgment Seat of Christ. Others at the Great White Throne Judgment. So live with that thought in mind.

My ulterior motive.

The other arena that takes up our time other than work is home. The pressures are real. The emotions are intense. The personalities are multiple. The goals are usually the same. The path often different. The fight is passionate. The outcome is…

Dependent on what is fought for.
Dependent on attitude. Focus on positives.
Dependent on discipline.
Dependent of our resolve.
Dependent on communication.

I Have Work To Do. How bout you?

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Family, Happiness, Life's Lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

