If

This is not a borrowed poem. It is my random thoughts. If I had it to do all over again I’d

Waited longer

Studied harder

Planned smarter

Invested in people

Exercised frequently

Prayed fervently

Worshipped intentionally

Loved lavishly

You?

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If

  1. kandy says:

    Oh me! If I had it to do all over again I would have
    Listen to my parents more
    Rebeled much less
    Been less boy crazy
    Sought a more personal relationship with God sooner
    Studied God’s Word more
    Prayed more
    Been a better parent
    Not stressed over the little things
    Put God and my family above my own selfish desires
    Loved and hugged so much more

    Can I start over? Would I want to start over?
    I’m not so sure. Would I be who I am today? Maybe that would be a good thing.
    Hoss, why did you ask this????

    • Warren says:

      I was just thinking about the effort we put into temporal things rather eternal. I wish so much of my life had been different. If I’d waited would I have met Christy sooner? The positive impact she would have been as a pastor’s wife is great. I miss the opportunities to dedicate a baby, teach it God’s Word, baptize her, attend her graduation, officiate her wedding, and bless their child. Investing in people is an immeasurable asset.
      You know my path didn’t catch God by surprise. He knew what would happen yet He called me into His ministry as a pastor. What a pick!
      Blessings to you and Rick. Say hey to the SS class.

      Hoss

  2. kandy says:

    The experiences you have had made you what you are today. You may say,”Please let me start over”, but I don’t think so. They brought you to Christy, maybe not as soon as you would have liked, but you can really appreciate her now. You have something to compare it to. Now, I’m not saying that is a good thing, but I’m so glad you have each other now. We can’t go back, so should we dwell on it? Would I have liked for my daughters to have parents who did not divorce and leave them a legacy of parents that stayed together instead of giving them step-parents, step-brothers and step-sisters,step-grandparents, etc,etc,etc. Yes!! It makes things so much more difficult on them and I hate it! I failed them, I hurt them, I made them a life they didn’t expect. I find myself feeling guilty more often then I would have liked to admit. I wasn’t the one who had the affair, the one who left, the one who stopped loving, but it still doesn’t take away the guilt. This does not mean that I don’t love Rick with all my heart, but should my life have been different? I know God doesn’t like divorce, but this is where I am. No, God was not surprised, maybe I was.
    Rick and I miss yall so much!! Please consider coming to SS. The class loves yall!
    Kandy

Leave a Reply

