Don’t look now but you’re being used!

The mindset of the average non-church goer saids,

I don’t go to any church but I will bring my kids by to get your candy from the trunk or treat before we head off to trick or treat and maybe take in a haunted trail before calling it a night. I can always trash the tracts we get at the church.

I don’t have time for church services but if my power bill gets too high I’ll come by and ask for help. I’ll even listen to your preacher talk if you’ll just put some money towards my bills.

There is always VBS summer. It’s a great opportunity for me to get out of the house some while y’all keep the kids busy.

Yeah, the church is being used. People have such a hardened conscious that the gospel seems to hit an impermeable wall. Naturally the take on this from the churches is if just one soul is saved then it is all worth it. I can’t argue that except to ask if that one soul is still active in Christian endeavors?

Cynical blog but has some truth to it.

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Church, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t look now but you’re being used!

  1. kandy tisdale says:

    That WAS cynical, but I know there is alot of truth to it. In fact, I know some people who play that game. For some reason the church owes them. But, what are we to do? Do we stop helping others? Do we forget about the children? I’m willing to give of my time, my efforts, my money to maybe make a difference. I think God can use it even if I don’t always see the results. What do you think?

  2. Warren says:

    I believe we should give responsibly. That would include investigation, education and accountability. Networking between churches would aid in responsible stewardship of God’s resources.

    We do what’s right and let God take care of the things in known to us.

    Good to hear from you. Thanks for your faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

