You kids go out and play while….

I can not number the times I heard my parents and my aunts and uncles tell us kids to

go out and play while the adults talk.

I always wondered what the big secrets were that us kids were not to hear. Course all we did was try to sneak up so we could hear or make excuses for going by just in the hopes of picking up some juicy secret

adult talk.

Now I’m a parent and find the desire to run the kids off so the grown ups can talk a vivid temptation. It’s not like I have any big secret. However, I do like having a measure of privacy. It is unfortunate this courtesy isn’t granted in our modern age of socialization.

Facebook, twitter, Google Live, Instant Messaging and web cams are at our kids disposal. I have found my private life at home is shared via these social outlets. It’s a crying shame. Seldom is there ever the re-telling of events in its most accurate sense.

I no more wrote the first sentence in the previous paragraph that it occurred to me the one key word to aid in the slowing down of my private business. It is the word

disposal!

Maybe that is what needs to happen with our social media.

I’m tired of my home life, my private affairs, and personal business being dissimulated by people who have no right. It’s my business. Let me tell it!

Does it seem strange to you now when you think back on hearing your parents say,

you kids go out and play while us adults talk?

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Family, Life's Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You kids go out and play while….

  1. kandy tisdale says:

    I so agree! People will come up and tell me things about my children that I haven’t even heard yet. Sometimes it is something that I don’t want to know and definitely something I don’t want anyone else to know. They see pictures of my beautiful grandbabies before I see them! People seem to feel comfortable to say things and show pictures of themselves that no one needs to read or see. Do they think this will remain private or do they just not care who sees it? It think probably the latter. I don’t want anyone to know anything about me unless I choose to reveal. I guess that is no longer possible.

Leave a Reply

