God’s Word Powerless

What makes God’s Word powerless? Why would I even say it is? Even more, do I believe as such? I’ve become more of a critical thinker. My fear is that I’m just simply becoming critical.

I have preached numerous messages without any “visible” response. I have listened as other men have preached and not seen any “visible” responses. I’ve wondered why there seems to be no real application of God’s Word in the lives of His people. They are continuing on with their lives without a second thought to eternity.

People are challenged weekly to live the godly life. There have been an increase in Christian movies thanks partly to Sherwood Baptist in Albany, GA. You recall Mel Gibson’s,
The Passion and Rick Warren’s Purpose Driven Life contributions and yet righteous godly living continues to dwindle.

The matter creates a conflict in my heart because my mind reminds me of a scripture my heart believes.

So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth; It will not return to Me empty,
Without accomplishing what I desire, And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it. (Isaiah 55:11 NASB)

I will emphatically state,

It is not my conviction God’s Word is Powerless!

I am convinced it is the stubborn determination of mankind to reserve his will for his own pleasure. We solicit God when He is convenient for us. We’ll call on others to pray yet not give any of ourselves to God.

We call on God as if we are calling on a doctor. The attitude is God is there for us rather than us being there for Him.

So what is the answer? You tell me.

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Church, Religious and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

