The blasphemy of the sacred desk

Clergy from most denominations will understand the term “sacred desk” to be a reference to the pulpit. It is a sacred place for one to stand. It is a sacred duty to honor the call to expound on the Word of God.

Pastors around the world Beware! Blasphemy has infiltrated the sacred desk. Pastors do not know their parishioners as well as they might think. In the fourteen years I was a pastor I became de-sensitized to the depravity of our society. I did not realize the depth of the immoral lifestyle so many “Christians” had fallen into.

We make light of the sinfulness of people Monday through Saturday and then how righteous they seem to become on Sunday. For example, I recently heard of a woman who “gave a sermon” at her church. I was astonished. It was laity Sunday. The woman is a compulsive curser. Filthy communication from her lips is not uncommon. Yet, her pastor invited her to speak.

I wonder how many times I as a pastor allowed someone to stand in the pulpit that I was given charge to. People who lived a double life. I am convince no one is worthy to stand behind the sacred desk and expound the Word of God. However, I do believe what one does for God during the week gives some merit to the privilege of God’s call to preach.

I am called critical because of my convictions about godly living. Sharing them in this way causes some to be offended. I’ve been called out for taking offense to the ungodly behavior of so-called Christians.

As John the Baptist was a voice of one crying in the wilderness, so do I speak out against sin. The injustice of our society. The immorality of our nation. The ingratitude of our race. All of these serves to confirm the depravity of mankind.

The saddest reality is the church has lost its integrity and can do longer call on people to repent of their sins and commit to living a godly life because the church is inundated with ungodly, sinful living. The church is in great need of repentance. Genuine repentance.

We dare not say anything to other Christians because of the fear of being called on the carpet ourselves. Well, I’m not so sure about the carpet but I am convinced being called on the altar is best for me. How about you?

I’m a sinner saved by the grace of God. I am justified by the life, death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus Christ. I have the desire to be more like Christ. I’m not free to live as I please. I am free to live as God wills for me to live. Do Christians not realize to be saved is to give, surrender, their lives to Christ?

God help His church to live according to His Word.

God help the pastors to be vigilant in who they allow to stand behind the sacred desk. While none is worthy, the blatant church member living in continuous disobedience to God should be excluded.

In His Service,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Church, Religious, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

