Drawn Closer: subtitle, our “firsts”

The intent of our, (Christy & I), vacation was to make memories for me and her. We talk about family memories often and recognize that there are too few events in our lives devoted to us. So a special vacation of “Firsts.”

My first plane ride.

My first trip to New York.

Christy’s first trip to New York.

Our first experience on the Subway. Did you know you can get turned around easily on those things? Don’t believe me just ask Christy.

Our first broadway show.

Our first “couple” cruise.

Our first ever trip out of the country. In this case, Canada!

All theses things were designed to set up memories and to draw us closer together and then… things started going south. Course the “firsts” still came.

All these occurred on Saturday from sunrise to after sunset.

Our first cancellation of reservations. In this case Southwest Airlines! Bless there hearts.

Our first time stranded at an airport.

Our first encounter with car rental agencies whose primary objective seemed to be NOT to rent cars.

Our first drive home from a long distance through the fringes of a hurricane. A Compact car I might add.

A 12 hour drive through rough wind, rain, and fallen trees.

Then there was the 11:30 pm event where we turned the car back in before closing at midnight only to discover our car driven to us by Jennifer C is running hot and low on gas.

I’d like to say mission accomplished! I think we will remember this vacation?

PS. Did I mention the car rental place forgot to secure the keys to the rental car thus we had to get the keys back to them the next day? Course the trip was only about 1 hour and 15 one way.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Life's Lessons, love, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Drawn Closer: subtitle, our “firsts”

  1. Hoss says:

    “Precious Memories” It was still awesome!

Leave a Reply

