Counting Rabbits

I don’t know if it falls under the umbrella of the simple pleasures of life or if it is an indication of getting old. Either way, I find myself actively involve on a new focus.

On my trek to work I pass a short section of road where I noticed a wild rabbit sitting in a grassy section as it were, watching cars go by.

Granted, I thought it was cute. However I noticed another rabbit and then another rabbit. I thought it was cool (kewl). Thus began my preoccupation with looking for the rabbits. I have counted as many as nine rabbits in that short stretch of road. The best part is seeing the young rabbits.

I can only surmise that I’m getting old indicated by my delight is seeing wild rabbits and that rabbits apparently like watching cars go by.

So what’s your simple pleasure of life?

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Life's Lessons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Counting Rabbits

  1. Warren says:

    I had an all time high count of 18 rabbits out on their adventures as I motored to work. The dark colored bunnies are cute.

  2. kandy says:

    This one took some thought. I actually came up with two. The first one is sitting in my back yard on the grass with my dogs by myself (when it is cooler). Sometimes I lay down. The dogs lay beside me and my cats come as close as the dogs will allow. Then, I do nothing. I look at the trees, the wind blowing, the dogs and cats enjoying my company, the sky, and just nature in general. I love to marvel at creation.
    Next, sometimes my husband builds a fire in our chimania? at night. Many times lately it has been too hot, but I don’t care, I don’t have to sit too close. We talk about everything and nothing. I hear about his work and frustrations there. We look at the sky and he points out stars and planes to me. Sometimes we say nothing. He usually talks more than me, but I don’t care. I’m hearing his most private thoughts about work and family and church and us.

  3. Warren says:

    These moments like you have described are examples of a lost aspect of American culture. Our hustle bustle world require us to make time for these moments. They are special. Good to hear from you. Hope you and Rick are well.

Leave a Reply

