The Hunt for a Church

The truth is I want to worship. The truth is I also evaluate. Sometimes I wonder if I evaluate too closely. Here’s why I say this.

My wife and I have been searching for a church home. Our present membership hasn’t worked out as well as we had hoped. With men dressed in civil war outfits complete with guns in the worship sanctuary several times a year, Santa Claus making his Sunday school visits, then the up and down and up and down during the worship services, add unfamiliar praise songs during morning worship and the ever present status board of giving for the new building helps to create a disconnection with us and the worship services.

So the search for a church continues. Here are a few examples of what we have found.

We visited a church that didn’t have sunday school. Preacher preached on the exemplary church yet did not have an invitation or call for any decision from the message. The pastor greeted us on the way out and stated he did not visit unless called upon to visit.

Our reaction. Call for a decision if it is God’s message. If it is a sermon then perhaps it is just your speech and no decision required. Visit! For crying out loud even Jesus sent out His disciple and told all of us to Go!

We visited several churches where we felt like intruders. People acted unsure whether to speak to us or not. At one point I began to wonder if I had something on my face, mis-matched shoes or tacky dress. One of these churches had the name which means brotherly love. We didn’t feel any.

Did you know churches can’t figure out what time to have services. We visited one church three times and either interrupted Sunday school or preaching. Service times were not posted,

Course there was the church with it’s new prayer garden being built. We were going there but would have to leave our bibles at home except for the KJV. The only bible they want in there church is the KJV. All other bibles are “broken.”

Now this begs the question, Can the Holy Spirit use a broken bible? I say yes. It’s the heart that needs to be broken! [by the way I’m using there term, broken. I don’t consider all translation broken. KJV has the word lasciviousness and has to be explained. Other translations use a word for lasciviousness that doesn’t need explanation. Where’s the harm? Not broken]

I’m looking for a church where there is blended music, bible teaching and preaching, ole time religion, caters to God and not the world. I’m not interested in church observations of mothers day, fathers day, Halloween alternatives, Santa, military exercises, etc etc.

I don’t mind the mention of God’s blessings on parents, our military, and the like but folks….LETS WORSHIP JESUS!

God bless.

Christy wrote: “Would also like to see a church close to home that welcomes the involvement….I don’t want to be a fixture in the pew:)”

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Church, Life's Lessons, Religious, Worship and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hunt for a Church

  1. Kandy Tisdale says:

    Once again your Blog distresses me when it comes to my church. I guess I just feel like giving up. Of course my roots go deeper than yours at OUR church. When married at 20 years of age I moved to Yuma, AZ where my husband was stationed in the US Marine Corps. We lived there 3 years then returned home with a baby and began to search for a church that would meet our needs. Our needs were much different back then. A nursery I could trust, a SS class we liked, a worship service that we felt met our needs. BBC seemed to meet most of our needs. 10 to 15 years later my husband and I divorced. It was hard, but my church was there for me and encouraged me in my time of need. I could have left, but I hung in because it was MY church and I loved it with all its faults, busybodies, etc. Not everthing has always gone my way. I have been hurt by my church and I have been angry at my church and I have been disappointed at my church, but God has never disappointed me. My church is not perfect, but if it was I could not go there. I have all but begged you to give our church a real chance and have an open mind. My husband and I love you and your family. We want to worship with you, but the wall you put up makes it so difficult. We want you to take a part and be involved. I guess I just feel like giving up.

Leave a Reply

