A startling statistic

Shout out to my brother and sister. Do you remember the events mentioned in the first three paragraphs? [duck – Marg]

When I was growing up my brother and I had to share the same room. We grew up financially poor. Dad was blind and mom was once a Siamese twin. Dad couldn’t get a job and mom could only get a low paying job because of her medical condition which was a result of her once being a Siamese twin.

We would go every year and get a new suit for Easter. My sister got a new dress. I can remember going to the S-mart and getting the Easter outfits. We would get new shoes too. They had to last a year and were only worn for church and funerals.

Going to church revealed a truth about life that literally scared me. Statistics state “one out of every one will die.” I would lay in bed trying to go to sleep when the thought of dying would scare me. I would have a hard time going to sleep. Often I would have nightmares about dying. It scared me.

I’ll confess there are times even now when the thought of dying scares me. I’m a born again Christian. I have all my hope and trust in Jesus. I have trusted Him for my salvation. I have read the accounts of how glorious and wonderful heaven will be. It should be something to look forward to. Yet there are times when I am still scared. I’m over fifty years old!

I also consider the fear of dying as a sin. It’s an indication of loving this world more than God. Scripture reveals this truth. I shouldn’t be afraid to die.

Could I explain it away by saying it isn’t a fear of dying but a dread to leaving certain aspects of this life behind? There are people, places, things to do, and activities I will greatly miss. Is that wrong? If I do miss these things then isn’t that an indictment for loving this world more than God? It’s a sin.

Heaven has got to be beyond comprehension. Heaven has got to be a place of great joy. God I hope so! The Holy Bible presents it as so. Trusting Jesus!

Do you have a fear of dying?

I hear people joke about going to heaven. They want to go but not right now.

You’re dying. Where are you headed?

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Life's Lessons, Religious, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

