They don’t care.

The reality is most people simply don’t care. Those that do either can’t do anything or don’t. Perhaps they don’t know what to do or there is nothing to do.

Sounds cynical. I’m afraid I’m becoming a cynical person or have been for a while. Does bitterness cause cynicism?

My first church pastorate was a boot camp experience. In one year and gone. Deacons met in a secret location. Four hours later all staff removed. Should that make a person bitter?

My second pastorate was a social club experience. Percentage of the church was either up at the mountains or down to the beach. But the gospel marches on! Should that make a person bitter?

The third church was a family chapel. The two predominate families were rivals. They did agree on one thing. The church was theirs and no one else needed to be there. No visitors allowed to become members. Growth was only biological. Members having babies who eventually became members. Should that make a person bitter?

The fourth church was a camouflage church. It wasn’t what it appeared. Nice folks but once the decision was made to remove the camouflage, nastiness and assassination of characters blossomed. Should that make a person bitter?

Why? People generally don’t care!

We don’t care enough to stand up for Christian values.

We don’t care enough to live up to Christian values.

So if I want to cuss then damn it I should! Besides God forgives.

Our land is not a Christian land. I seriously don’t know of a land that is a predominantly PRACTICING Christian nation.

I guess I am cynical. I see my own shortcomings. My own sin. I’m not the godly person I want to be or that I aspire for others.

Why is it?

Anger is an initial response from me. I have to guard my emotions. It’s 24/7 and is wearisome.

So, here I sit. Self-confined. Self-absorbed. Self-evaluating.

I’m bitter. I think the people who claim to be Christian more often are not and don’t live like it. I’m bitter because I can’t pastor anymore. People don’t care. I’m considered disqualified when I still sense God’s call on my life to preach/pastor.

I’m even bitter because I don’t have a right to be mad.

Almost 52 years old and know how some people honestly feel about me. It’s not love.

Nuff said.

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Life's Lessons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

