Comments, Character Critiques

The local paper had a section devoted to the practice. It helped with the increase in subscription sales. Years later I moved to another county. Low and behold, another section in their local paper was used for comments and character bashing. It has continued into the technological fields. TV stations now request your comments.

So we should not be surprised when people start sharing their “unbiased” comments. Folks are so kind. Not hardly.

I liked it better when the mindset was “not to air your dirty laundry out in public.” Private matters were handled privately. You didn’t come out of the closet heralding inappropriate lifestyles. Shame was a good and necessary part of life. Your raising was a reflection on your parents to include your parent’s morals.

Those old proverbs still ring true. Walk a mile in another’s moccasins before judging. Grandma used to say, sweep in front of your own door before sweeping in front of someone else’s.
Technology now allows you to Facebook, Twitter, or Blog your comments and character assassinations.

Tactfulness is still in season. Buffeting comments with thoughts of kindness, or with “this could me mentality,” are appropriate. So yeah, share your comments but how bout employing discretion?

Dr. H C Chiles taught his students this litmus test for communication. Ask yourself –

1. Is it true?

2. Is it kind?

3. Is it necessary?

If you answer “No” to any of these three questions, don’t say it or write it.

1 Corinthians 10:31 Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Life's Lessons, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comments, Character Critiques

  1. Chris Bryant says:

    Warren Jones:
    I don’t know if you remember me, but I certainly remember you. I went to BSHS and we had an art class together along with Phil Isreal. I have to mention this but I accidentally broke your ceramic project and you got so mad at me. I hope you are doing well and drop me a line sometime. Your hair is a little shorter and i remember you in glasses !!!!
    Take care.

Leave a Reply

