It Ain’t About You

I don’t mean to make you mad but as kindly as I know how, let me just say it ain’t all about you. I know that sounds mean but hey we are all adults so let’s behave as adults. I run into so many who get all twisted inside because something is not going to suit them. Here’s the deal. Unless it’s your birthday or you’ve been asked, think of the group instead of yourself.

I’ve had grown adults tell me I’m not going to do such and such or that they are going to do this and that as though they intend on spoiling plans made for a group just so they can have their feelings stroked. It ain’t about you. It may be a “family event.”

To hear an adult say, ” I ain’t coming” sounds like the proverbial boy who gets mad at the ballgame with other kids and says, “I’m going home and I’m taking my bat and ball with me, so there!” C’mon!

As an adult you have an opportunity to spread joy by thinking of others instead of yourself. You can make an event enjoyable for all or you can get childish and ruin it for all to remember. It will be talk of the family for a while. Everyone will weigh in on their opinions. However, after all is said and done, it will be the childish adult whose lasting impression that will be held to scrutiny.

Adults. Let’s leave the childish behavior to the children. If we don’t, how can we correct the kids?

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

