Likely To Offend: Mother’s Day – A secular holiday

I will be blasted for this post. Whenever you post such things on a regular basis it is probable some one will get offended. While it is not my intention to offend, I’ll go ahead and apologize. I’ll also state the following is simply my opinion, my viewpoint.

Today is Mother’s Day in the USA. It is the day we recognize the contributions of mother’s around the world. It is a worthy endeavor. It is also a secular holiday.

Therefore, why is it that the religious community finds it necessary to push aside the worship of Jesus Christ on Mother’s Day so that the honoring of mothers can take place? I have attended services where Jesus is hardly mentioned. All the attention is on Mothers. Same is done of Father’s Day but not to the extent it is for mothers.

Certainly one can worship Jesus by recognizing the gift He has given them when they have a godly mom. However, too often we recognize mothers in church who have intentionally had children outside of marriage. How is that an honorable mom? We recognize mother’s with the most children present. We recognize the oldest and youngest moms. Where is Jesus honored or worshiped in all this? Then of course something is given to all moms so no one gets ‘left out.’

Church services are for worshipping Jesus and shouldn’t be a convention of motherhood. Or for that matter fatherhood. [save the Fatherhood of God]

Would you believe people are honoring moms today by taking them out to a local restaurant to eat only to have them stand in line for 45 minutes or longer! Yeah, I love you mom…wait here.

I was the pastor of a church in the low country of South Carolina when I visited a young man and encouraged him to attend church. He stated, he didn’t go to church because he did not believe in love. The only time he went to church was on Mother’s Day and that was so his mom could [once again] get the recognition of having the most children there. If he didn’t show up her reign would have been in jeopardy.

Instead of recognizing secular holidays in church services, how bout we worship Jesus. Honor Him. Leave Mother’s Day and Father’s Day and the like to the secular world.

Don’t even get me started on Santa Clause!

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Church, Religious and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Likely To Offend: Mother’s Day – A secular holiday

  1. kandy says:

    In response to the Mother’s day blog: I can see your point. HOWEVER, I see where your blog was posted at 10 am this morning. If you had been at Bethlehem Baptist Church you would have seen one baby dedication, all mothers asked to stand, and then a sermon on “being prepared for Christ’s returning” with no mention on Mothers, Grandmother, or any mothers at all. Mother’s day was not mentioned in the bulletin, which surprised me. So, maybe you have been in the wrong churches on Mother’s Day. Our Sunday School lesson was not on Mothers, but on “Keeping the Truth by recognizing False Doctrine”. Oh, by the way, we missed yall.
    Hope to see you Sunday. Kandy

    • Hoss says:

      It truly pleases me to hear how the services went. We planned on being there but was on the road going to Mary Black Clinic on Reidville Rd. Then Doctors Care before getting Christy some meds. Her neurophathy (spelling?) causing chronic pain in her hand. She didn’t sleep well. I’ll work on that church attendance. Thanks.

      Now if we can just get Santa where he belongs…. LOL

Leave a Reply

