Better Than You!

If I don’t smoke and you do then I’m better than you. If you drink and I don’t then I’m better than you. If you are a drunkard, adulterer, fornicator, child molester, homosexual, liar, thief, etc… and I’m not then I’m better than you.

When did we get the notion that such an attitude is correct. I agree 100% that behaviour is an indication of character. There is such a thing as good character and bad. Different people get there Standards from different places. It involves their ‘world view.’

However there is something wrong when we have to point out another persons bad character traits in order to make ourselves look better. Good character used to be derived from the Holy Bible. Now the Bible isn’t allowed to question our character but we question the Bible’s validity. The result is the USA has degraded to a lesser adherence to the morals of a Christian nation and adopted a situational approach. Depending on the situation a character trait is good or bad.

For instance, the couple meet up for a dinner date. She is married. He is single. They get along fine at dinner. One thing leads to another which leads to sexual intimacy. Adultery? Bad character? The norm used to be absolutely yes. It’s adultery, thus bad character. BUT, did I mention she is getting a divorce? Oh it isn’t final yet but it’s coming. Now what do you say?

One response, she is as good as single so no it isn’t adultery and no it isn’t bad character. Another response says divorce not final so yes bad character and yes adultery. As you read this did you consider the other character trait? Namely – fornication?

Are you thinking there needs to be one Standard of accountability that is absolute? Should it be the culture, a creed, a covenant, or a communication from someone who will hold people accountable? My goodness, who in the world is able to hold someone accountable? He would have to be guiltless himself. He would also have to have a certain ‘right’ to hold that position of judgeship.

The Standard of Accountability is the Holy Bible.

The Communication from someone to hold people accountable is the Holy Bible.

What is Absolute? God’s Holy Word.

Who can hold all others accountable? God (Creator)

Who is Guiltless? Jesus

Who then has the right to be Judge. Jesus Christ the Son of God.

Here’s the Point:  God is no respecter of persons so I can holler all I want about being better than someone else should I choose. It doesn’t matter. Jesus Christ teaches us the Standard in God’s Holy Word through His life, death, burial and resurrection. The Holy Bible, Jesus the Christ, and the Holy Spirit all teach and demonstrate what is truly good character. Jesus will Judge at the Bema Judgment. God will judge at the Great White Throne Judgment.

I’m not better than you nor are you better than me. Let’s strive to be like Christ.

Romans 2:11

For there is no respect of persons with God.

Philippians 2:5

Let this mind be in you that was also in Christ Jesus.

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Life's Lessons, Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

