Connecting

I’m in a dilemma. Can’t honestly put my finger on why but here’s the deal. I belong to a large church. Fine people. Great staff. My pastor and assistant pastor have both shown me to be men of integrity and good character.

The problem is connection. I connect well with my Sunday school class. They are faithful, humble, eager, and willing to indulge in conversation. We are able to discuss the Bible without argument. Seems we respect each others freedom to express viewpoints.

However, I don’t connect well with the sanctuary worship hour. Messages are biblical. Music is blended. Services are relevant. So how is it I don’t feel a part of what is going on?

I know part of the issue is my employment requires my presence on two Sundays out of four. Wednesday evening are the same way. My wife is often called away because of our business in another town.

Course I don’t agree with everything my church does but I doubt very seriously I ever well. No such church truly exists.

So how do I get connected? Is it me, the church, some aspect of it, or is this God’s way of getting me to consider a move?

What say ye?

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Church. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Connecting

  1. kandy and rick says:

    Let’s use a sports metaphor.
    Is your failure to connect due to being taken off the field, religated to simply watching the other players? Where you were used to being the quarterback, calling all the plays, not you ‘re sitting on the bench? From this sideline position are you simply being a fan or is there other ways you can help the team? Are you simply watching the game and then going home or are you looking for areas where you can help support the team? Do they need a cheerleader, assistant coach, a team physician, a trainer, a skills coach, equipment manager, etc…? Spectators do not engage in the game they simply observe. Players may not play in every game but they are no less necessary.
    On your former team, what advice would the coach have given?

  2. Hoss says:

    It is easy to see the validity of your metaphor. To answer your question I suppose I would advise the team player to find his niche and serve there. I have always felt the nursery workers sacrifice a great deal for the overall ministry of a church. No I don’t think I need to keep the nursery. Just don’t have the temperment I used to have.
    I am made aware of my need to be involved in the practices [using your metaphor] in order to be an effective team player.
    Thanks for the reply. I will ponder these things. My Sunday School teacher told me yesterday it was good to ponder, think, on things. Phil. 4:8-9

Leave a Reply

