Unrealized Expectations

If I’m ever in that situation I’m going to _________. You can fill in the blank. Have you ever said that? You know exactly what you would do. However once you get there you find out you took a course of action totally unexpected. It’s not what you had planned.

It is a good idea to plan ahead for certain scenarios. To have a ‘game plan’ can even save your life in the event of an emergency.

I have faced numerous challenges lately. I’m challenged at work to exert supervisory techniques while remaining unchanged by the demeaning characters of others in supervision. I am challenged to exert equal and fair justice to my biological child and step-children. Quite a tightrope for me and my wife. She has the same challenge!

My main tool is self-evaluation. Do you do that? What kind of tests do you apply? For instance, a professor once told me before you speak ask yourself  these three questions. Is it kind, is it true and is it necessary? If any one of these is no, then don’t say it. That test certainly cuts out a lot of speeches!

Do you challenge yourself to do well at your job, at parenthood, and the other areas of your life? Why? For what reason? To satisfy yourself? To please others? Perhaps to please God?

We are told ‘whatsoever we do, do all to the glory of God.’ We are told ‘not to grow weary in well doing.’

How ya doing? Your expectations of yourself realized?

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Life's Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

