Hate mail: “Please remove me from your list”

After five and a half years I still get hate mail.
I suppose this last one was ‘asking for it’ since I did send out an email to everyone on my address book. I thought I had deleted those whom I know hate me but one did get by. So I got the reply, “please, remove me from your list.”
At first I was hurt. I was offended. I think I know why she sent the reply. Still hurts. This woman’s dislike for me probably results from my wife divorcing me and my subsequent re-marriage to a former member of the church we all attended. I was her pastor.
The woman most probably believes the many lies that were told about me. It’s too bad the woman isn’t willing to hear the whole truth.
However, I have decided I cannot be responsible for everyone’s perception of me. I can only strive for Christlikeness and leave the vultures to gnaw at me at will. As the Psalmist has said many times. God is my refuge and my strength.
It is my conviction to allow God to plead my case. For God to guide my path. For God to work His will in our lives.
Now I’m not super-human. The words and actions of people do hurt. I try to remind myself what Robert McGee says in his book ‘Search for Significance.’ Those who live in such a way as to please others will live a miserable life. Your significance is not in how well you please others. Your significance is in your relationship with God. That relationship should be intimate. [paraphrased]
So while I strive to be more deeply intimate with God, I take great pleasure in glorifying God because He used me to counsel with this woman and her husband six years ago when their marriage was torn apart because of infidelity. After several sessions, God restored their marriage and God allowed me to be a part of that. Even while my marriage was in turmoil.
May God be glorified.

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in God's Favor, love, Religious and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

